Edu Website Not Loading On A Mac. Help!

Hi guys, I hope someone can help me with this website issue.

I’m a lecturer at a Tafe campus in Adelaide. If you’re familiar with Tafe, we provide access to e-learning for all students using our Learn (Moodle) platform. Students can access all their course content via the Moodle site.

Last week a student came to me to say that out of her 5 subjects she could only access 3 of the Moodle pages on her iMac at home. The other 2 Moodle sites refuse to load. They just hang with the site loading continuously. We tested her account on the Tafe PC’s and all 5 sites worked okay, so we know it is not her account.

I tried loading the same sites on my Macbook and my iMac and they will not load for me either on both machines using Chrome, Safari and Firefox.

I also use Parallels and Windows 10 on my Macs and both of the Moodle sites load fine on Chrome using Windows. So it’s not Mac hardware causing the issue. One of the IT staff at work also tried loading the sites using a Mac at work. Both sites loaded okay on his Mac using Safari, Chrome and Firefox. So the issue seems to be random Macs.

I’ve advised the student to clear her caches and cookies, but that hasn’t worked. Have any of you guys come across this problem before? I don’t understand why these 2 Moodle pages work fine on a PC but will not work on random Macs. Help and advice would be much appreciated.

Joe

There’s nothing much that can be done unless its a caching issue on he ISP end which I doubt. While Australian ISPs used to be terrible with regard to holding old cache content of recently updated sites, it’s not really a thing anymore.

Make sure that your student is running the latest version of Chrome or Firefox. As Safari is a system level update now it can be problematic if the user hasn’t updated their system software.

TLDR: Get the latest version of Firefox/Chrome and make sure tha the user has cleared out their cache/cookies.