How durable is the Space Grey Apple Watch?

I’m thinking about getting myself a 42mm Space Grey Apple Watch Series 2 (aluminium) but would like some feedback on the durability of the case and the glass first. Specifically looking for feedback on how easily the case chips or scratches or the screen scratches or marks from those who have them.

I might consider going to the Space Black stainless steel if it is any better but given how prone SS is to scratching and the fact that I’d expect you can’t polish out the scratches on the black like you can with the standard stainless steel case I can’t see this as being a real option.

I work in IT so can occasionally spend time up to my elbows in PC cases, server cases, comms and server racks etc. but spend most of my time at a desk using a computer. I always wear a long sleeved shirt so would suspect that this would give some kind of protection at times.

Plus I guess a screen protector os some sort would be a good idea as well, are there any recommendations on those (preferably via. Ebay)

I have the space black SS series 2, purchased on release date. So far it has remained scratch free. I have found sapphire crystal watch faces are reasonably durable.

I’ve got the Series 0, Sport in Space Grey/black and managed to scratch it pretty early on in the piece, it seems I just wasn’t used to wearing a watch after many years of not having one (Pro Tip: Take your watch off before putting snow chains on your car :stuck_out_tongue: ). Since then, I don’t think I’ve scratched it much more (if at all) and I do tend to get under desks as well as do work round the house, on the car etc etc and tend to wear it when I shouldn’t (until I notice then take it off).