Most people never upgrade their Macs

I used to have a Mac Pro 1,1, but I’ve been using iMacs for 4 years now and with thunderbolt, I don’t really miss the mac pro. I have plenty of fast storage, a 2nd 4k monitor to accompany my 3 year old 5k iMac. My Mac Pro lasted me 6 years, but it was expensive, and I changed the video card once, put in eSATA cards for storage back then.

Most people never upgrade their Macs, apart from memory and the odd SSD. If the iMac Pro lasts 5-6 years as a workhorse, it will pay for itself.

2 Likes

I figure there would be two parts to that.

1. Some data that indicates that the vast majority of users never upgrade.
  2. Repair data says that having hard soldered components lowers the overall failure rate enough to offset the increased replacement (instead of repair) costs under warranty.

On that first point, again assuming there is data available, I wonder what that upgrade % is at 1 year vs 2, 3, 4, 5+
My assumption is that people who buy new Macs don’t upgrade them, but people who buy 2/3 year old units probably do. Of course, these aren’t direct Apple customers so maybe they don’t care :frowning:

3 Likes

People who think Macs are expensive today simply haven’t been a Mac user very long. I can remember back in 1988 when a Mac II cost $10k, back when you could buy a new car for that. In real terms, Macs have become cheaper over the years.

Let’s face it, the iMac Pro isn’t marketed to average users, nor is it marketed to people who like fiddling with the innards. It’s for people who want to get their work done faster, using premium parts for reliability/llongevity.

Most people who’ll be buying this will be writing it off on their tax.

3 Likes

You’re comparing the longevity of a desktop computer with a mobile computer, and absolutely no sane person would expect 10 years of service from a macbook pro.