Restoring an Australian Classic

I have a real passion for electronics. I’m a Mac technician during the week, a circuit board repairer on the weekends and in between, I look for other projects to take on. Sometimes I can’t help myself. Back in March I accepted an offer to acquire an old worn out machine from TAFE. This IBM PC-XT model 5160 was manufactured in 1986 in Wangaratta, Victoria, back when IBM was manufacturing computers in Australia.

It had seen better days, covered in Limestone dust from its time used in an Adelaide Hills quarry and with all the various tool marks and abuse that comes with being used in a trade school in later life.

I decided early on to restore this machine. IBM machines of this era are becoming harder to find and this machine has a lot of history and cultural significance associated with it, as a remnant of Australia’s computer and technology manufacturing and as an icon of the personal computer revolution in its own right, as much as the Apple II and Macintosh.

The machine was stripped to a bare metal chassis in preparation for sandblasting and repainting in the stock colour. Because my equipment and skills when it comes to painting are not that fantastic, the painting was done by an Adelaide based professional painter and powder coater. I was rather impressed with the result.

The inside of the power supply, which also serves as the main exhaust vent for the machine, was covered in 30 years of dust. So it needed to come apart for cleaning.