Symbolic links to cloud syncing folders

I am a graphic designer with a number of clients and I maintain cloud syncing folders for most of them.

The problem is some want to use Dropbox, some want to use Google Drive and some want to use OneDrive (yeah… I know!).

I have maintained folders for each of them in the various cloud syncing folders but it is difficult sometimes remembering which one uses which.

I would like to set up a single folder (called something like “Cloud syncing” with sub-folders for each client, along with the other stuff I keep in the cloud) that I can sync to all three services via the use of symbolic links.

I know it’s possible - I’m just not sure how and there’s too much at stake to stuff it up.

I would really appreciate it if someone could walk me through the process - remembering I’m a lowly graphic designer… not a software engineer.

Love to hear your ideas on the best way to do this.

Thanks (-:

Could you use IFTTT instead? Pretty sure you can create a recipe to sync files between services.

A very basic method would be to use favourites in Finder. If you show the sidebar in Finder you can drag a folder to it (whether from within dropbox or google drive it doesn’t matter) and then they’ll all be shown there. It would depend on how many active clients you had I guess - any more than 10 or so and it might become cumbersome.

Or you could create an alias for each folder (like a shortcut) and have a folder full of aliases. Create a (real) folder in your documents and call it Clients. Open a second tab/window of Finder, and navigate to the first client folder within dropbox or wherever, right click and select Make Alias. This creates a shortcut to that folder. Drag that into your first tab/window so it is saved in the Clients folder.

Hope that makes sense!

There are a number of cloud synchronized services. I suggest you look into them. I use cloudhq

Tom

Thanks for the reply but I don’t think you’ve understood my question.