Time to Smarten Up This Place

So I have been shopping around and was wondering what everyone would recommend and is using. As the smart accessory market is a bit of a mess.

The first thing we are looking to do is install some type of smart lock.

I’d also like to turn the lights into smart lights preferably by installing some kind of smart switch that control the existing lights instead of buying expensive individual lightbulbs.

Probably would need HomeKit compatibility as well as support for Google Assistant/Home.

1 Like

Belkin did sell an Aus version of the Wemo light switch, that worked with HomeKit via a bridge, but it seems its not sold in Australia any more.

Daniel at Notaa may have some HomeKit switches? You could import some UK switches but if your house burns down due to Non-Aus certified switches? I’m not an electrician so don’t rely on me for electrical advice.

I do have lots of HomeKit/Alexa/Google compatible LIFX bulbs which I would recommend , but they are expensive.

I’m also interested in a smart lock but the “reviews” of each one seem so inconsistent.

The Nanoleaf Lights are my favorite. No real practical purpose, but you can “paint” colours, change in rhythm to music.
IMG_0594

1 Like

I had a smart lock, removed and sold it.

Not a sparky but based on my own research, smart switch options are a bit limited in Australia due to the cost of certification. In almost all cases you’ll require a neutral feed at the switch, which isn’t common in Australian wiring, so the cost of installation is worth also factoring in - you can’t legally change the switch or wiring yourself, unless you’re a licensed electrician.

I went for bulbs instead because all my switches are currently on the architrave, so would have to replace that as well as having the switch moved to the wall and having the wiring altered for a neutral feed. Downside of bulbs is the cost and if someone flicks the switch off (guilty of doing that myself) the light can’t be controlled.