How's your Super!

G’day,

Super! (annuation) is a topic that, if you’re like me, causes your brain to hurt and blood to boil. (Why the hell can the Government tax Super payments as they go in, AND as they go out!? And so on…) Sadly the whole topic can get very complicated, and very boring, and people tend to just tune out and ignore it (as I have done), even though ultimately Super really is important!

I am NOT an expert on Super. But I thought I’d start this conversation, having spent the past few weeks trying to get a grip on my own Super! situation, and maybe we can share our own nuggets of experience.

Why does Super matter? The idea of Super is that it will ultimately allow the Government to cut the Aged Pension. In other words - it’s what you are going to be living on when you’re old, so you hopefully don’t have to chow down on Chum - you can use your Super to afford Pal instead.

http://cdn.trixanpet.com.au/TrixanPet/images/brands/chum/M174256/none/image1xl.jpg

The problem is, if your Super becomes splintered into multiple Super funds as you change jobs, it doesn’t work as effectively as it should. Each fund you have will be taking fees out of your retirement on a regular basis, and that hurts double, because you are also losing potential interest/returns.

(I’ll actually ask at this point if anyone can answer this Q - If I have multiple funds, and I’m paying life insurance premiums on all of them, and I die… Is my wife going to become super rich, with payouts from each fund? I’ve always assumed the answer is yes, because ultimately it’s an insurance policy, with premiums being paid, which are not related to the fact you have other such policies… in which case… my wife really can’t know what I’m worth dead…!)