Installation of software on OS

Hi,
I am extremely new to iMacs (was given one, a 2009, about a week and a half ago) and after over 20 years on a PC I am wondering why on earth I didn’t do this earlier. (Only reason I was looking into iMacs was my wife really needs one for her new job) of course I couldn’t run any modern software offered so I used OpenCore Legacy Patcher and installed Monterey on it. To install software on Windows I needed to (to make sure it was successful) download an offline installer, turn off my firewall and Internet security, do an install and then a reboot to make sure it was all applied in the registry to work properly. When installing software on Mac do I need to do any of those steps or will it just install successfully? I’m just playing around with this old iMac to get used to it and then I plan to get the wife either a brand-new iMac or Mac mini.
Thank you very much for your help.

Nah, absolutely not. There’s 2 types of installation methods that you’ll come across.

Download and drag to Applications folder - in this case you’ll download a Zip or DMG, open it and then drag the application (or folder containing the application and either others or more resource) into your applications folder. If you double click on the item and aren’t prompted to “click next” or “click install”, this is the method you’re facing.

The other is an installer - double clicking this will open a wizard that’ll walk you through installing the application which will then most likely land in your /Applications folder. To get to this, open Finder (happy face on the dock) then from the Go menu up top, choose Applications.

Coooool, thank you!
So obviously internet protection and firewalls don’t bother Macs and it wont need a reboot!!! Bit of a learning curb swapping to Mac but I am really loving it!

Welcome! :slight_smile:

The 2009 iMac is pretty old, but still fully capable of most things.