Time Machine

Does anyone here use Time Machine?

Since Carbon Copy Cloner (which I have been using exclusively for backups for 7 or 8 years) can no longer do a cloned bootable backup, I thought I’d supplement it with Time Machine. I used Time Machine back when it was introduced but at one time I had some problems with it so I stopped using it.

I’ve had an M1 Mac mini for about a month (second hand running Monterey 12.1) and once I got it organised I started doing Time Machine Backups but I’m not sure it’s working properly. I did a backup earlier this afternoon and it appears it’s the only backup on there. I hasn’t recorded any of the other backups. I just put a file in my downloads folder, did another backup but it’s as though it was only the second backup I’ve done.

On the other hand, at the same time, I started doing Time Machine backups on my MBPro also. This was running Catalina until yesterday when I upgraded to 12.2 and the backups seem fine. They are all there.

Any thoughts?

Have you tried to “Enter Time Machine” to verify if any older backups exist? Looking at it in the Finder is likely to be misleading as TM makes massive use of symlinks and other trickery.

Open any folder that has had changes within the last month. Select “Enter Time Machine” from the TM menu and see if there are older copies.

Yeah, have done that. Only the 2 backups from today are there whereas on the MacBook Pro there are a number going back to Jan 15.

Yes so, on theMacBook Pro, in the menu bar: Latest backup yesterday at 11:10.
In the preference pane:
Oldest backup 15 January.
Latest backup Yesterday 11:10.

None of that info appears on the Mac mini…

Obvious question, but have you checked the exclusion list in TM prefs to make sure Mac Mini drive is not in there?

Click the Options button when in the Time Machine PrefPane in System Prefs.

Yes, have done that…

Does it go through the motions when you select “Backup now” from the menubar widget?