Who Knows How To Use sudo?

I just replaced my large, noisy external HDD RAID with a smaller, quieter SSD one. So far, so good. I had copied over the User Movies, Music & Pictures folders to the external and then, using the root user, deleted the originals and replaced them with Sym Links. I have been using this setup for many years going back to my Mac Pros.

So now there is a bug in Sonoma with the root user Finder crashing. I believe this has been fixed in the 14.2 beta but I don’t really want to install a beta operating system on my main Mac. I believe this can be accomplished using the sudo command. I used to use Terminal quite a lot back in the day but it’s just confusing now. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance…

Richard, I hope this is what you are after.

sudo ln -s /Volumes/yourexternaldrivename/Pictures /Users/yourusername/Desktop
This should work and put an icon for the Pictures folder from the external onto your desktop.
You should be logged in as an admin user and will be asked for your account password for the command to run.
Only admin group users can use sudo.

Thanks, that is very helpful but I also need to be able to delete the empty Movies, Music & Pictures folders from my Users folder. These were generated automatically when I deleted the Sym Links to my old drive.

Richard, If you really want to do this then:
sudo rm -r /Users/yourusername/Movies

And to recreate if you want it back:
sudo mkdir /Users/yourusername/Movies

Then, These commands set the ownership and permissions back to the originals.
sudo chown yourusername /Users/yourusername/Movies
sudo chmod 700 /Users/yourusername/Movies

Some software may expect these directories to exist.

Excellent, thanks. I appreciate it. I’ll give it a go tomorrow.